General Tutorials

Construction Of The Circle Of Fifths

A detailed discussion - how to construct and use the Circle Of Fifths
Includes discussions and video tutorials


There is nothing mysterious about the circle of fifths. Think of the Circle of Fifths as chart of major and minor scales arranged vertically. The chart is subdivided into two sections the upper section of the chart tabulates the scales that have sharps, in their key signatures. The lower section of the chart tabulates scales that have flats, in their key signatures. Our discussion includes videos and textual content spanning the following topics :

The unit of measurement
The enharmonic
The chromatic scale
The major scale and its unique tonal structure
The intervals of a perfect 4th and 5th
Major, minor and the diminished triad


The semitone and tone are the terms used to describe the measurement of the interval between two notes. For example, C to C# is a semitone, while the interval, C to D, is a tone. C first moves to C# then moves over to the note D. C to C# is the first semitone, while C# to D is the second semitone. Two semitonesi, equals to a tone, therefore the interval C to D has a measurement of two semitones or 1 tone. (semitone + semitone = tone). Spend time on the piano work out some tone and semitone intervals for yourself.


Notice that each of the black keys has two names, e.g. C# and Db, the first black note in the illustration above. This is the enharmonic and they sound exactly they same. Used in a sentence, ''C# is the enharmonic of Db" (C sharp is the enharmonic of Db). We may also say, ''Db is the enharmonic of C#". Another example is, D#, which is the enharmonic of Eb.


The tonal structure of major and minor scales are best understood by learning the chromatic scale. There a rules to follow when writing the chromatic scale. In our example we are going to keep it simple at first. You can refer to a more comprehensive account of the chromatic scale in our online tutorials.
An important feature of the chromatic scale is the fact that the distance between adjacent notes is always an interval of a minor second. The minor second interval on the piano will be played from a white key then moving to the adjacent black key. In other words it has an interval of a semitone. Example, C to Db is a semitone interval.


There are special instances where two white notes on the piano, will form an interval of a semitone or minor second. The two examples are E to F, and B to C. You will also note that the black key does not feature in between E to F and B to C.


The distance from one fret to the next / adjacent fret, will be a semitone interval. Notice that the interval between each of the adjacent notes is a semitone interval.

There are other ways to play the chromatic scale for guitar. In the illustration above we used a horizontal approach to demonstrate how the chromatic scale of C, is played on a single string. It's much easier to see and appreciate especially for beginners.


The major scale is diatonic in that its arrangement of tones and semitones are unique. The diatonic scale has five tones and two semitones. The intervals in all diatonic major scales are specifically arranged as follows: Tone, Tone, Semitone, Tone, Tone, Tone, Semitone. Take a look at the illustration below. Notice that the diatonic scale has only 7 unique notes and the the chromatic scale has 12 unique notes.

The Tonic Solfa

The Tonic solfa, is an arrangement of the music scale into syllables such as, do, re, mi, fa, so, la, ti, do. Generally music notes would be symbols or alphabets. The tonic solfa is not essential to our tutorial, it will however be of interest to singers and choirs.

Major Scales - Tonal Structure

Every major scale will have its semitone intervals between the 3rd and 4th, and 7th and 8th degrees. The rest of the adjacent notes, have an interval of a tone.


The G major scale, just like the C major scale, will have 7 unique notes. G A B C D E F# G. You are probably wondering how we arrived at F#. Let's take another look at the guitar. In this example we will use the third string of the guitar, which is tuned to G. We start by looking at the chromatic scale for G and see how the G major scale is extracted from it.


From the illustration above, you will notice that the 7th note is, F sharp and not F natural. This is done to maintain the interval of a tone between the 6th and 7th note. The interval between the 7th and 8th note becomes a semitone as a consequence. In order to build the circle of fifths chart, you will need to remember that the scale of G major has one sharp, which is F#.


It is important to know and understand intervals of a perfect 4th and a perfect 5th. As mentioned earlier, intervals are measured in semitones. This video explains intervals of a perfect fourth & perfect fifth, it further demonstrates how these intervals are used to construct the circle of fifths / chart of major scales. We are finally ready to build the chart of scales.

We apologise for the incomplete lecture. Will be completed in a few days. Somthing's come up.

A couple of videos coming soon.

Copyright ©2019 Abraham Devar's Academy for Music, All Rights Reserved.